GALLERY: The 2019 Gold Coast Marathon

Scroll down

A wild day at Australia's fastest marathon

Typically Australia's fastest marathon, each year the Gold Coast draws a quality field from home and abroad, as many Japanese athletes look to escape the oppressive heat of their summer. The 2019 edition of the race was set to be electric, with Japan's Yuta Shitara (PB 2:06:11), New Zealand's Zane Robertson (debut), and American legend Bernard Lagat all taking part. The women's field was highlighted by Australian runner Milly Clark trying to get the Olympic standard, and Kenyan stalwart Rodah Jepkorir running her 4th marathon for the year.

TMP 2651
TMP 2658
Former Japanese national record holder Yuta Shitara
TMP 2661

Zane Robertson had reportedly asked the lead pacers to go through the halfway mark in 63:00, and within 7km of the start only 5 men were in the lead pack. By the turnaround at 16km, it was down to Robertson, Shitara, and Kiptum.

Interestingly, Robertson's shoe lace appeared to be undone from around the 10km mark, and remained that way right to the finish.

TMP 2684
WLF 7082
WLF 7122
TMP 2748
WLF 7232
TMP 2821
TMP 2895
TMP 2839
TMP 2887

At the 25km mark Milly Clark was sitting in 3rd, 1 minute and 15 seconds behind Jepkorir and Truphena Chepchirchir.

TMP 2962
TMP 2978
WLF 7286
WLF 7310
TMP 3048
TMP 3032

By 32km Clark had gone past Chepchirchir and moved into second place, setting up a thrilling final 10km chase to Jepkorir.

On the men's side, the final pacer detached around 33km and it was left to Robertson, Kiptum, and Shitara.

TMP 3060
TMP 3072
TMP 3081

Coming into the final kilometers, Clark had recuded Jepkorir's lead to less than 30 seconds, running entirely on her own.


Yuta Shitara made his move with less than 2km remaining, getting the win in 2:07:50 - well short of his PB but a new Australian all-comers' record. Kiptum was valiant in defeat, entering the finishing chute not long after Shitara with a 2:08:02.

TMP 3120
WLF 7421
WLF 7428
TMP 3138
TMP 3130
WLF 7438
WLF 7448

Extraordinary scenes for Australian Liam Adams who smashed his previous best of 2:12:52 (set in Berlin 2017) to record a 2:11:36. The Olympic standard is 2:11:30 - though Adams may still find his way to Tokyo.

Crowd favourite Bernard Lagat ran a 2:12:10 in his second marathon, finishing one spot behind Adams.

TMP 3161
WLF 7457
WLF 7462
TMP 3173
WLF 7467
WLF 7488
WLF 7534
WLF 7529

Ultimately Rodah Jepkorir held off a fast finishing Clark to win in 2:27:56. Clark closed hard and finished only 12 seconds back in 2:28:08, a PB and more importantly a time under the Olympic standard.

WLF 7555
TMP 3198
TMP 3200
TMP 3211
WLF 7566
WLF 7572
TMP 3231
WLF 7550
WLF 7576
Back to top

You may also like

Subscribe to stay up to date

Subscribe for the latest news and exclusive offers. Join the Tempo community today.